Follow us on Twitter and Facebook


Todays Date : 01/21/2021

The Czech koruna, symbol Kc, code CZK, is the official currency of the Czech Republic, an Central European country of nearly 11 million people. The word koruna translates to “crown.” The koruna is subdivided into 100 hellers, (h), though these are no longer in use as of 2008, and daily prices are rounded to the nearest koruna. The koruna is managed by the Czech National Bank in Prague. 

The Czech koruna was introduced to replace at par the previous Czechoslovak koruna in 1993 upon the disbandment of the country of Czechoslovakia. Though the Czech Republic has been a member of the European Union since 2004, but plans to join the Eurozone and adopt the euro as the national currency have been suspended. As of December 2012, 19.274 korunas equal to 1 US dollar. 

15 days 30 days 45 days 60 days

Currency Quick Facts

Name: Czech koruna

Symbol: Kc

Code: CZK

Decimal Unit: 1/100th heller (no longer in use)

Nicknames: crown

Coins: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50Kc

Notes: 100, 200, 500, 1,000, 2,000, 5,000Kc

Central Bank: Czech National Bank of Prague

Country(ies): Czech Republic

Currency Characteristics

Koruna coins are currently in circulation in the values of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, and 50 korunas, while notes are circulated in values of 100, 200, 500, 1,000, 2,000, and 5,000 koruna denominations. All Czech koruna notes are a different color for each denomination value, allowing for easier differentiation between amounts. Koruna notes depict famous Czech public figures on their obverse side and national symbols on their reverse, while coins feature the iconic Czech lion on their front side and their numerical value on the reverse. 

Copyright 2013 Exchange Rate Calculator