Follow us on Twitter and Facebook


Todays Date : 03/20/2019

The Croatian kuna, symbol kn, code HRK, is the official currency of Croatia. The kuna is subdivided into 100 lipa, lp. The word juna comes from “marten,” the Croatian word for marten pelts once used as a unit of trade in the area during medieval times. Lipa means linden, or lime tree, in Croatian, a historically valuable trade wood. The central bank of the kuna is the Croatian National Bank in Zagreb. 

The Croatian kuna was introduced in 1994, replacing the Croatian dinar at a rate of 1 kuna equal to 1,000 dinar. Croatia will officially join the European Union in July 2013, and will most likely transition to the Eurozone and adopt the euro within two to three years of the Croatian accession. 

15 days 30 days 45 days 60 days

Currency Quick Facts

Name: Croatian kuna

Symbol: kn

Code: HRK

Decimal Unit: 1/100th lipa

Nicknames: none

Coins: 5, 10, 20, 50, lipa; 1, 2, 5kn

1, 2 lipa; 25kn (rarely used)

Notes: 10, 20, 50, 100, 200kn

5, 500, 1,000kn (rarely used)

Central Bank: Croatian National Bank

Country(ies): Republic of Croatia

Currency Characteristics

1 and 2 lipa coins are rarely in use due to their low value, even though the central bank has recently announced that it would not withdraw the 1, 2, and 5 lipa coins. The 1, 2, and 5 kuna coins are cast in nickel silver, while the lipa coins are composed of various bimetallic combinations, such as aluminum-magnesium alloy, bronze plated steel, and nickel plated steel. The 25 kuna coin is rarely used.

The banknotes of Croatian kuna were designed by Miroslav Sutej and Vilko Ziljak. At present, the current banknotes in circulation are the 5, 10, 25, 50, 100, 200, 500, and 1,000 kuna denominations, with each value having its own note color. 

Copyright 2013 Exchange Rate Calculator