Follow us on Twitter and Facebook


Todays Date : 01/21/2021

The Hungarian forint, symbol Ft, code HUF, is the official currency of Hungary, a nation of nearly 10 million people. The forint is subdivided into 100 filler, though these subdivision coins are no longer in circulation as of 1996. The word forint comes from the city of Florence, Italy, where these original gold coins were minted. The forint is managed by the central bank of Hungary, the Hungarian National Bank in Budapest. 

The forint was first introduced in the Austro-Hungarian empire from 1868 to 1892. From 1927 to 1946, Hungarians used the pengö, which suffered some of the worst rates of inflation in history. In 1946, the forint replaced the pengö. The subdivision fillérs have been removed from circulation since 1996, while 1 and 2 forint coins were withdrawn in 2008. As of December 2012, 216.54 Hungarian forint was equal to 1 US dollar.

The country of Hungary has been a European Union member since 2004, and will have to adopt the euro as its national currency at some point, according to the requirements of the EU. 

15 days 30 days 45 days 60 days

Currency Quick Facts

Name: Hungarian forint

Symbol: Ft

Code: HUF

Decimal Unit: 1/1ooth fillér (no longer in use)

Nicknames: none

Coins: 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 forint

Notes: 500, 1,000, 2,000, 5,000, 20,000, 20,000 forint

Central Bank: Hungarian National Bank

Country(ies): Hungary

Currency Characteristics

All the forint banknotes depict a famous Hungarian figure on the front side, and locations, scenes, etc., relevant to this figure on their reverse side.  All notes are the same size, yet each denomination of banknote is a different color to allow for easy differentiation. 

Copyright 2013 Exchange Rate Calculator