Follow us on Twitter and Facebook


Todays Date : 05/25/2019

The Romanian leu, code RON, is the official currency of the country of Romania, an eastern European nation of over 19 million people. The leu, (plural: lei), is subdivided into 100 ban, (plural: bani), and means ‘lion’ in Romanian. The leu is managed by the National Bank of Romania in Bucharest. 

The Russian ruble was widely accepted over the native currency up until the first series of modern leu, from 1867 to 1947. The second issue of leu was issued from 1947 to 1952, while the 3rd series was printed from 1952 to 2005. In 2005, a new revalued leu was issued, at a rate of 1 new leu equal to 10,000 old leu. From 2005 onwards, the leu banknote has been printed on polymer material. 

15 days 30 days 45 days 60 days

Currency Quick Facts

Name: Romanian leu (plural lei)

Symbol: none

Code: ROD

Decimal Unit: 100 ban (plural: bani)

Nicknames: none

Coins: 10, 50 bani

Notes: 1 leu, 5, 10, 50, 100 lei; 200, 500 lei (rarely used)

Central Bank: National Bank of Romania

Country(ies): Romania

Currency Characteristics

Romanian leu coins are currently circulated in values of 10 and 50 bani and notes of 1 leu, 50, 10, 50, and 100 lei. 1 and 5 bani coins, and 200 and 500 lei notes are no longer in print and are rarely seen, though they remain legal tender. Romania joined the European Union in 2007, and has plans to adopt the euro in the year 2015. Leu coins show the Romanian coat of arms and year of mint on their obverse, and value and notable buildings on their reverse. Romanian leu notes feature native Romanian flora and fauna, important figures, and their value on all sides. Leu notes are printed in different colors to allow for easy differentiation between values. 

Copyright 2013 Exchange Rate Calculator