Follow us on Twitter and Facebook


Todays Date : 07/21/2019

The Russian ruble, symbol py6, code RUB, is the official currency of the country of Russia, a nation of 143 million people. The ruble is subdivided into 100 kopek. The Russian ruble is also officially in use in the territories of Abkhazia and South Ossetia, and unofficially in Belarus. The ruble is also often seen spelled ‘rouble,’ and it is assumed that the word ruble comes from the rouble’s Russian meaning “to chop,” pertaining to the chopping off of desired weights of gold and silver pieces for use as early currency. The ruble is managed by the Bank of Russia in Moscow. 

For the last 500 years ruble has remained the static Russian currency throughout all of its name and power changes. There have been 7 issues of rubles over the last two centuries. The first ruble came to an end in 1921, while the second series began in 1922, and the third in 1923. The fourth series was issued from 1924 to 1947, the fifth from 1947 to 1961, and the sixth from 1961 to 1997. The seventh and current series of ruble has been issued since 1998. Initially, copper coins were introduced during the 19th century. After the fall of the Soviet Union in 1992 new coins were introduced in the Russian market. Paper banknotes in Russia were first introduced in 1768, during the reign of Catherine the Great.

15 days 30 days 45 days 60 days

Currency Quick Facts

Name: Russian ruble

Symbol: py6

Code: RUB

Decimal Unit: 100 kopek

Nicknames: rouble

Coins: 10, 50 kopek; 1, 2, 5, 10 rubles

Notes: 50, 100, 500, 1,000 rubles; 5, 10, 5,000 rubles (rarely used)

Central Bank: Bank of Russia

Country(ies): Russian Federation; official use by Abkhazia, South Ossetia; unofficial use by Belarus

Currency Characteristics

The ruble is currently circulated in coin values of 10 and 50 kopek, and 1, 2, 5, and 10 rubles, while ruble notes are circulated in denominations of 5, 10, 50, 100, 500, 1,000, though the 5, 10, and 5,000 rubles are rarely used in daily transactions. Ruble coins depict either the emblem of the Bank of Russia or St. George on their obverse and their numerical value on their reverse. Ruble banknotes feature famous Russian buildings, monuments, cathedrals, and bridges on both note sides. Ruble banknotes are printed in different colors and sizes for easy differentiation between values. The colors include red-orange combinations, violet and blue, brown-green and burgundy and blue-green combinations. 

Copyright 2013 Exchange Rate Calculator